patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

Feedback from Rise Art

with 3 comments

Sometimes I get feedback I am glad to receive and other times I get helpful feedback that I didn’t like to receive when I post my work on Rise Art. I like to be liked…

wishful thinking

and I like it when my work is liked. So naturally, I expect that when I see the votes (on Rise Art you can vote for work by clicking on a tick or a cross) 100% will be favourable, and it never works out that way. Sometimes only just over half of viewers clicked favourably, and often those are the works I like the best! It can be discouraging.

When I posted my Wakefield Bridge recently, I got some favourable interest and some helpful comments.

Wakefield Bridge, 2011, acrlylic on canvas, 81cm x 81cm

I was unsure about the hardness of the hard edge direction I am beginning to take ( I have mentioned it before), and to hear others like Matt Selby and David Riley say that they think it is a good direction is appreciated.

Written by Andy Parkinson

October 10, 2011 at 7:00 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. O GEEZ! I’m a doofus! So sorry that I completely misunderstood what you were saying with the hard-edge thing and took it in my own direction! I still stand by my love of wobbly things…but I appreciate all your work – and I agree that the optical effects are much stronger with the hard edge images. Ok, gonna shut up now. Cheers.

    alissasart

    October 11, 2011 at 2:40 am

    • Hi Alissa, you are right to stand by your preference for the wobbly and hand-drawn. Everything you said in your blog post was absolutely pertinent; no need to apologise for it. I think you correctly picked up on my own hard edge ambivalence! I prefer the wobbly but the work seems to be demanding hard edge… at least for now. I was interested that you used “Indian Summer” rather than “Wakefield Bridge”. It is the later painting of the two (unfortunately not a good photo) and I am attempting to combine a certain amount of wobbly within a dominant hard edge structure (it used to be more the other way around).

      Andy Parkinson

      October 11, 2011 at 7:47 am

  2. Ok, thanks…and yes, I liked Indian Summer the best when I watched the slideshow because it was living the most in the in-between area between hard edged perfection and hand-drawn, it has that tension which I find most interesting.

    alissasart

    October 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm


Leave a Reply

