patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

Duke Street Tetractys

with 2 comments

I had the idea for this tetractys when I was working at Wallacespace on Duke Street, St Pancras

duke 2

Duke Street Tetractys 2, 2012, Acrylic and Permanent Marker on Board, 11 1/4″ x 11 1/4″

I was clearing away the marker pens after the day’s work when I noted this sequence of colours: yellow + blue = green, complementary = red, adjacent to orange made by adding yellow, complementary = purple. I made a sketch that same day and then during the next few days completed a version in acrylic and marker pen on acrylic paper, currently on display at First Come First Served at The Lion and Lamb Gallery. More recently I painted the version shown above, on board using narrower lines (possibly too narrow).

(The photo has a slight red cast due to the direct sunlight. My fairly good camera has a limitation of having automatic white balance only.)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good to see work progressing over the festive period! I rather like the colour cast…!

    David Manley

    December 30, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    • Thanks David, that moment when I took the photo must have been that one moment of bright sunshine I have seen in 2 weeks, in all the other photos I took look the ground for this painting is a dark grey (it’s white) so yes, I ‘d rather this colour cast any day!

      Andy Parkinson

      January 1, 2013 at 11:20 am


Leave a Reply

