patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

Only quick at first sight

with 4 comments

Whilst this pattern looks visually ‘quick’ it is really only quick at first sight. Prolonged study elicits multiple interpretations.

Quaduo, 2012, Acrylic on Canvas, 10″x10″

How to encourage the viewer to linger a while, that’s the question.

A few days ago I delivered one of my new paintings to the Old Lockup Studio in Cromford, ready for our pop up show Salon 1, on 18 August. Whilst I was there I tried to persuade Clay Smith and Rachael Pinks that my work took only a few minutes to make and that anyone could do it. When Rachael suggested that there was more thinking time than I was letting on I dismissed her comment, genuinely believing that I did very little of that. Since then I have become more aware of just how long I spend viewing and thinking (sometimes with little or no internal dialogue and sometimes with lots of it – two very different modes of ‘viewing’). Because I enjoy it so much, time flies and I hadn’t been noticing the passing of time. It turns out that it is hours a day, looking, thinking, editing by which I mean turning canvases around to see different variations and paying attention to what changes and how the colour behaves. Early mornings, sometimes I find that I have spent an hour without realising that I had been doing anything it all. And it is through these time distorting experiences that I come to appreciate that these patterns are indeed much slower than they may seem at first sight.

Written by Andy Parkinson

August 13, 2012 at 7:30 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s art for you! It creeps in and takes over and before you know it……

    seascapesaus

    August 13, 2012 at 10:33 am

  2. Beautiful. The window into your process, through the work and your written thoughts, comes at a poignant time for me…thanks for the inspiration to be patient!

    morphodidius

    August 13, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    • What a special connection with “patternsthatconnext”. A nice tribute from morphodidius.

      seascapesaus

      August 14, 2012 at 7:49 am

  3. Thanks both of you for your comments. Hang on in there Alissa.

    Andy Parkinson

    August 14, 2012 at 4:17 pm


Leave a Reply

