patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

Natalie Dower: Constructive Line of Enquiry

with 4 comments

I wish I had seen the Natalie Dower exhibition Line of Enquiry at the Eagle Gallery in May. I became interested in her work after seeing the wonderful Fast track Through 44 points, at Lion & Lamb Gallery in June.

Well, I did the next best thing and bought a copy of the book that accompanied the show, published by EMH Arts London, 2012, with a preface by Mel Gooding and a text by Alan Fowler. I am enjoying it a lot.

Here’s a link to a summary with images at Abstract Critical, where in comments Alan Fowler says:

I find it fascinating that Dower – together with, among others, Jeffrey Steele, Peter Lowe and Gillian Wise – continue to carry into the 21st century an approach to abstraction which was prefigured 100 years ago by Kandinsky when he wrote in 1912 that he foresaw a time when the relationship between elements in a painting could “be expressed in mathematical form”, and concluded that “the time was approaching “when the painter would be proud to declare his work constructive

I also found this interesting podcast of an interview with Dower in relation to her paintings/constructions in the Government Art Collection. She comments on her artistic background, the notion of systems art, the Fibonacci sequence and the Dudeney Dissection. (It becomes clear that the interviewer is herself an artist, but I don’t know who it is.)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also thought Natalie’s work is very interesting and then I came across Katrina Blannin and for a moment thought they were one and the same!

    David Manley

    August 6, 2012 at 8:19 am

    • I saw paintings by both at the Lion & Lamb show ‘Double Vision’ that was curated by Katrina Blannin. They seem to share some similarities of look as well as of concern don’t they? Katrina Blannin also did that interview with Jeffrey Steele in the recent issue of Turps Banana.

      Andy Parkinson

      August 6, 2012 at 9:04 am

  2. I interviewed Natalie for the Government Art Collection (I work there part-time) – I am a painter and used to have a studio in Vauxhall in the same block as her and have always really liked her work. Glad she is getting the attention she deserves.

    Nicky Hodge

    March 20, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    • Hi Nicky
      thanks for commenting. That’s a great interview. It is clear from a comment that the interviewer is a painter too, I had wondered who it is, and now I know. I am very keen on Natalie Dower’s work and was very sorry to just miss the ‘Line of Enquiry’ exhibition. She is in a group show that starts today (20 March) at Eagle Gallery: ‘Panel Paintings’

      Andy Parkinson

      March 20, 2013 at 1:16 pm


Leave a Reply

