patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

I repeat, repetition is impossible

with 5 comments

One of the key operations I am using here is of course repetition. I aim to repeat a line, a move, a colour, a quadrant.

Process and Performance 4, July 2012, Acrylic on Canvas, 10″x10″

Yet I discover that I am doing it anew, even when what I thought I was doing was repetition.  I’ll say that last bit again: even when what I thought I was doing was repetition.

Written by Andy Parkinson

July 24, 2012 at 7:30 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it is put on to Kierkegaard’s tongue: repetition, the same, but different 😉

    J.A. Vas

    July 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

    • He is the authority on this subject in my view, in an indirect, having-no-authority kind of way.

      Andy Parkinson

      July 24, 2012 at 11:27 am

  2. Zen koans now Andy! – but I am not obtaining nirvana…

    clinock

    July 28, 2012 at 7:27 am


Leave a Reply

