patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

Richard Long at Hepworth, Wakefield

with 8 comments

I visit the Hepworth, Wakefield quite often, usually a lightning tour towards the end of the day. This Sunday we were amongst the last people in there. It felt a bit like “last orders at the bar” and “time please!” The invigilators were kind in letting me take a quick look at Richard Long’s slate works, and magnificent clay ‘painting’, Waterfall – a site specific piece, before they closed the doors for the day.

I love the Hepworth. The quality of light in there is wonderful, perhaps the best lit art space I know, so you get all this wonderful natural light in many rooms, just great for seeing the work. And they always have a few really good paintings to look at (there’s lots of sculpture as you would expect, and whilst I like that, it is always the painting to which I am drawn). This time it was the fantastic Patrick Heron they have on show in the “St Ives” room. Sorry, “no photos allowed”. Does anyone know where I can find one to link to?

P.S. I say THE Patrick Heron as if you know that I only really cared for one of them. It had a landscape referring title, though needed no such referent. (The others were a figure and a churchyard scene that I thought were only OK.)

P.P.S. I found a link here (it gives an idea of it). The painting is titled June Horizon and was painted in 1957.

Written by Andy Parkinson

July 3, 2012 at 7:00 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really enjoyed the video showing Richard Long’s very fluid work from the cherry picker.

    seascapesaus

    July 3, 2012 at 11:58 am

    • Thanks for commenting. (I like the sounds too). The film is a reminder for me of how the messy stuff of paint transforms in front of your eyes into something quite wonderful.

      Andy Parkinson

      July 4, 2012 at 8:04 am

      • I agree Andy. The tv was on so sound was muted – must have a second look! It all looked so easy…. and refreshing.

        seascapesaus

        July 4, 2012 at 8:07 am

  2. Reblogged this on jewish philosophy place.

    zjb

    July 3, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  3. I haven’t yet managed a visit to the Hepworth, but you’ve convinced me to get myself over there. That clay painting is a must see 🙂

    Sue Brown

    July 22, 2012 at 10:31 am

    • I am pleased to have convinced you to go! It is well worth a visit. If you are travelling a long way Yorkshire Sculpture Park is nearby also.

      Andy Parkinson

      July 22, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      • Yes, that’s on my list too. Shocking that I haven’t visited either place yet, as I’m from that part of the world originally …

        Sue Brown

        July 22, 2012 at 12:22 pm


Leave a Reply

