patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

The Monochrome

with 5 comments

No connection to that famous blue monochrome was intended…

…yet when you paint a monochrome you just cannot not connect to the whole tradition of monochrome paintings. I know this is also true of other types of art but I feel that it is especially true of the monochrome. And one of the truly amazing things about it, for me, is just how rich a tradition it is. You might think that once it’s been done its over with, and one of the “meanings” of the monochrome is surely “the death of painting” yet rather than ending it all, not only new paintings but new monochromes get made, and I continue to make them.

I have been painting monochromes, on and off, for over 30 years. When I first started to make them, as an art student, the internal tutors at Trent used to say that it was the kind of work they would expect from an old man. Well, now I am much older I feel I have earned the right to make as many as I want!

By the way, they play havoc with my camera’s automatic focus!

Written by Andy Parkinson

June 28, 2012 at 7:00 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Age does bring some benefits Andy! I think I must do a few monochromes.

    Molecules of Emotion

    June 28, 2012 at 8:23 am

  2. I love these – beautiful…

    searchingtosee

    June 28, 2012 at 8:54 am

  3. Yes, these are great!

    Richard Guest

    June 28, 2012 at 7:20 pm


Leave a Reply

