patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

James Kalm Reviews New Work by Brice Marden

with 5 comments

I have posted before about James Kalm’s YouTube reviews of art shows in New York. Here he is in his characteristic style, whispering about the art so as not to disturb anyone, only to be disturbed himself, by a mobile phone. It’s not unlike an old Dom Joly sketch. I have often wanted to attend a gallery show with video camera running just to see whether I could pull it off like James Kalm does. Well, in the closing frames of this one he is thwarted. Nevertheless, he succeeds in questioning the ‘control’ of the gallery by simply quoting them, at the same time as finding a way around their prohibition.

Returning to a material and motif the artists used several years ago, most of these works are fabricated using small slabs of marble as grounds. Incorporating the swirling veins of black crystal silicate that naturally appear in the marble, the artist then “assists” these forms with hard edge lines and geometric bands and blocks of color to create paintings at once modern and ancient. Also includes views of paintings on canvas and a interrupted attempt to record “Ru Ware Project”, a multi-panel painting that Marden has worked on for six years.

Written by Andy Parkinson

June 25, 2012 at 8:00 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After reading one of your posts about James Kalm I started watching his reports and now I’m completely addicted. There’s a great post on the artist Bill Jensen whom I’d never heard of, and is a very interesting painter. James also gets caught at a Gerhard Ricther show, and there’s another where he nearly gets beat up by a jazz band on the subway.

    sbmacinnis

    June 25, 2012 at 11:38 am

  2. Thanks for introducing me to Kalm’s subversive art appreciation. Reminds me of the time I snuck a few pics of David at the Accademia in Florence. I felt like a winner then, I imagine Kalm feels that a lot. Also, its great that he is giving us all access to these shows. Again, thanks.

    Gracie Smith

    June 25, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  3. Brilliant – thanks for sharing…

    clinock

    June 26, 2012 at 8:03 am

  4. Reblogged this on notes to the milkman and commented:
    First time I’ve come across James Kalm and one of his art reviews. I’m going to check out some others though. Thanks for the introduction.

    notes to the milkman

    June 26, 2012 at 1:15 pm

  5. Thanks all for your comments and reblog, I will look up the Bill Jenson one. Thank you Gracie, I hadn’t really thought of it as subversive but it is there isn’t it? Yes, I am not going to be in NYC much this year (probably not at all) so I either see the shows this way or not at all!

    Andy Parkinson

    June 27, 2012 at 8:28 am


Leave a Reply

