patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

The Indiscipline of Painting at Mead Gallery in January 2012

with 6 comments

I am exercising self discipline resisting the urge to look in the exhibition catalogue for The Indiscipline of Painting that I saw in Waterstones, and bought and asked my kids to wrap up for me as a Christmas Present.

I had hoped to go and see the show at Tate St Ives, before then seeing it in Coventry at the Mead Gallery in Warwick Arts Centre, but St Ives is a long way, so I will wait until 13 January and see it for the first time at Mead Gallery. It is on until 10 March 2012, and it is near enough for me to see it once a week if I choose to do so (and I may well do)!

Warwick Arts Centre is part of Warwick University, and I had no idea that they had a collection of colour-field abstract paintings which are on display across the campus. I have booked a tour.

It’s only recently that I have been admitting my interest in colour field abstraction now that I am so unfashionable myself that I have given up caring about what is in or out of fashion.

There’s a bar in Nottingham called ‘Fashion’ and I used to like stepping into it and out of it saying “now I am in fashion” and “now I am out of fashion” (childish I know). It was the oscillating between positions that was so enjoyable.

Written by Andy Parkinson

December 22, 2011 at 8:45 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gee Andy, who needs self discipline at Xmas! Books are books they might go off if they aren’t looked at, just think it’s pudding for your eyes. Cheers Sue

    paintlater

    December 22, 2011 at 9:37 am

    • Well, I usually wait until Christmas day to eat pudding. Thank you for your comment. I am delaying gratification just for a few days.

      Andy Parkinson

      December 22, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  2. too bad for that little double-blob right in the middle of that image…

    mdkiehl

    December 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    • I won’t know until I see it whether it is on the painting or just a problem with the reproduction. I suspect it is purposely there in the actual painting (?)

      Andy Parkinson

      December 22, 2011 at 5:54 pm

  3. I would do exactly the same thing at a bar called ‘Fashion’.

    zorgor

    December 24, 2011 at 5:07 am


Leave a Reply

