patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

‘Shooting Zizek’ Short Film Competition (via writewhatyoudontknow)

with 3 comments

I’m no film-maker but I am so tempted to do this one
they only want one minute
maybe I could achieve something even with my digital camera that has a video setting?

'Shooting Zizek' Short Film Competition Verso Books just announced a challenging short film competition: Shooting Žižek short film competition Radical philosopher Slavoj Žižek has made his mark on how we view and interpret film through his writings as well as through his documentary, The Pervert’s Guide to Cinema. Now Verso Books and The Church of London are sponsoring a competition to produce a short film on Žižek’s theory of the end times. The winning entry will be chosen by Žižek hi … Read More

via writewhatyoudontknow

Written by Andy Parkinson

July 3, 2011 at 7:33 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting…I love pervert’s guide to the cinema

    Madeleine Swann

    July 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  2. I met Zizek along Susan Buck-Morss and David Harvey at a recent CUNY Lecture. It’s somewhat tragic that Zizek has become such a celebrity figure, forced to do a schtick of cracking obscure Marxist jokes, because I really think that he was the smartest of the well-known philosophical Marxists out there. Far better than Badiou, Laclau, Mouffe, or Balibar, any of them. Of course, Moishe Postone and David Harvey are probably the greatest living Marxists established within the academy. But they are not as prominent.

    I don’t know if I’d want to participate in a contest like this. To begin with, I don’t have the necessary skills. Second of all, I find some of Zizek’s forays into theology problematic, in the same way that I did with Ernst Bloch before him. Nevertheless, of course many of the central themes of redemption, justice, transfiguration, and so on are themes common to both Marxism and Christianity. But the agency is vastly different. Though I know that objective conditions must ferment a situation conducive to revolutionary social transformation, I hardly believe in any sort of inevitabilist end-times scenario.

    Ross Wolfe

    July 5, 2011 at 4:23 am

    • Hi Ross
      i am continuing to enjoy your posts at your blog site, by the way. Architecture started to become really interesting to me only after reading your blog. I’m not so bothered that Zizek has become something of a celebrity, that doesn’t seem a reason for me to dislike his work. I have just finished reading Living in the End Times. He has a fascinating section towards the end on architecture. He starts out by saying that it isn’t his area of expertise and then goes on to make some good observations. Have you read it?

      Andy Parkinson

      July 31, 2011 at 10:46 am


Leave a Reply

