patternsthatconnect

abstract art, a systems view

visiting Yorkshire Sculpture Park

with 5 comments

I didn’t want to watch a wedding on TV,  so to somewhere outdoors with art….. Yorkshire Sculpture Park.  Surely, the most accessible modern and contemporary art venue in the UK.  I went with six members of my family, some of whom were less interested in art than others. We did get some of the usual comments resembling “anyone could have done that” along with genuine surprise to find that certain pieces were actually exhibits. And just for a moment Arcadia, my favourite piece, took me by surprise. I mistook it for a real sign! (I don’t believe I am admitting to that, and it was only for  moment).

Leo Fitzmaurice, Arcadia (one of a series scattered around YSP)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the way back to the railway station my son said that he had become conditioned to seeing sculpture in with the landscape and was expecting to be surprised by an exhibit here and there on the journey. No exhibits, but lots of signs, none of them for Arcadia. I  missed the sign for the railway station.

Written by Andy Parkinson

April 30, 2011 at 7:01 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] YSP the other day (see yesterday’s blog), I was amazed at how much the sheep seemed to appreciate this Barbara Hepworth (or is it by Henry […]

  2. Thanks for these, I am determined to get there this month.
    Did you know that the Hepworth Gallery is opening in Wakefield on the 21st May – this year…. another fantastic art space for Yorkshire.
    Amanda

    Amanda J Wells

    May 2, 2011 at 8:24 am

    • hi Amanda
      yes I had noted that one and made a date in my diary to go and look
      Yorkshire is becoming a great place for art

      Andy Parkinson

      May 2, 2011 at 8:44 am

  3. Very cool. VERY cool.

    EbonySolis

    May 5, 2011 at 3:40 am


Leave a Reply

