patternsthatconnect

abstract art and systems thinking

OneThing20: how mind and nature might connect (via itsallonething)

with 4 comments

I keep connecting to others connecting with Gregory Bateson and the pattern which connects. The pattern which connects is itself a pattern, a meta pattern, a pattern of patterns.

It was my teacher,colleague and friend Judith Lowe, who first introduced me to the writing of Gregory Bateson and, if I remember rightly, she suggested that we read it as if it were poetry and let it wash over us, at first, as a way into it. Well, it does have that kind of poetic appeal. Although, strictly speaking, it is science writing it has this amazing aesthetic dimension. I think the film that is embedded in this reblog as well as the writing in the blog itself (just click on ‘read more’), brings out something of his poetic style. The film is a trailer for a one- hour film by Nora Bateson.

OneThing20: how mind and nature might connect Gregory Bateson tells us that we ought always look for the “pattern which connects.” I first stumbled upon Gregory Bateson while a college student and working at a local book distributorship. Our customers were college and university libraries, and one of them had purchased a beautiful hardbound copy of Mind and Nature – a Necessary Unity.  I stood the … Read More

via itsallonething

Here’s a different blog with a slideshow that also reveals the aesthetic style. In relation to content, Bateson insisted that the question “what connects?”  was an aesthetic question. ( I have used this slideshow before, quite recently but it’s so good that I thought it deserves another look ….or two.)

Bateson slideshow at the Rhizome Network

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like your blog, as well. I’m definitely adding it to my blogroll links.

    On this subject, the relationship between man and nature (or Mind and Nature, to put it in Schellingian/Hegelian terms), I have written both a long (now published) essay and an unfinished essay on modernist architectural solutions to the problem of the disconnect between humanity and the natural world. The various avant-garde architectural attempts at a resolution between town and country, man and nature, can be found here. My longer essay on the relationship of man and nature can be found here.

    I think you might find them interesting. I prefer the modernist approach to nature to the more soft-line “sustainable” and “eco-friendly” architecture of the present. Either way, it is a major problem standing in need of a correct response.

    Ross Wolfe

    June 23, 2011 at 6:25 pm

  2. Hi Ross
    thanks for the interest and the link. I have done likewise.
    I have skim-read your posts and will say more at your blog when I have read them properly and thought about them. I like what you say. We might agree on a few things, including the modernist rather than the “eco-friendly”. You may have noticed that I am a fan of Gregory Bateson, but not uncritically, and I fear that much what was in systems-thinking has more recently started to sound rather new ageist. Anyway, more another time.

    Andy Parkinson

    June 23, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    • No problem. I’m not too familiar with Bateson’s work, but I always do grow rather suspicious when thoughts about nature or the universe drift towards New Ageism. Would you recommend any books by him for me to take a look at?

      Ross Wolfe

      June 23, 2011 at 10:57 pm

  3. Hi Ross
    Yes. I recommend ‘Steps to an Ecology of Mind’

    Andy Parkinson

    June 24, 2011 at 7:20 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,563 other followers

